Flora, Flora, Flora

9 Mar

Hola sewing folkaroos! It’s been a while. Life’s been crazy. Bought house, moved house, got dog, mini-breaks, christmas, new year, work blah blah I won’t bore you with my day to day life!

However, in amongst the mayhem I found some sneaky time to pattern test By Hand London‘s newest pattern, Flora! Have you seen her yet? I was delighted with the invite to test the pattern, and found the deadline very motivating to actually complete a garment in amongst everything else.

I went with Variation 1 – faux wrap bodice with pleated dipped hem circle skirt (otherwise known as a mullet skirt). I had next-door-to-zilch time to create this baby, so I lived live on the edge and proceeded without a muslin. The lovely Colette from Tessuti kindly donated the lovely floral viscose linen blend that I made Flora up in too.

ZoSews - Flora dress

I chose my skirt size based on waist measurements because hip didn’t really matter so much due to the voluminous nature of the beast, and bodice on bust size. I made size 10/14. I should have gone down at least a size because I would have preferred a tighter fit – she’s a bit loose. However because I was in such a mad rush and also decided to give you guys the best idea of the pattern fit out of the box by not making any changes, it is what it is. And I still loves ‘er.

ZoSews - Flora dress

The pattern says you need 160cm wide fabric. It’s not a lie let me tell you! I was working with 135cm and had to pinch out a whole lot of volume from the both front and back of the skirt – shown in photo below.

Cutting Flora Dress Skirt

See the sections pinched out?

I also tried to make her up with the longest size hem – I don’t like short thingys šŸ™‚ – but it didn’t work for some reason, so I chopped all the excess back off and went back ‘on pattern’. Which means she’ll probably be more of a winter rather than summer number for me – teamed with tights and boots of course.

ZoSews - Flora dress

So what else can I tells ya?

  • Hemmed by hand – still can’t handle machine hemming – and it’s quite cathartic in front of the TV anyway.
  • Bodice is lined with a white cotton batiste.
  • I love invisible zips.
  • Next time I’ll go down a size and lengthen the waist.
  • I’d like to try the non-mullet version, and I’d also like to frankenpattern the bodice with a pencil skirt
  • From what I’ve been reading, many other testers were smarter than me and thought to french seam the skirt because you can see the inside of the mullet from the front – I wasn’t that tricksy and have simply overlocked to finish. I don’t think it looks terrible though.

ZoSews - Flora dress

Oh man I need a haircut… that fringe, gah…

ZoSews - Flora dress

So that’s Flora, give her a go!

And what’s a post mentioning a new fur-baby without a pic ‘ey? Meet George, my newest obsession šŸ™‚ Don’t let those eyes fool you, he’s a savage monster ;p

George

Z xx

20 Responses to “Flora, Flora, Flora”

  1. Rebecca Wagner March 9, 2014 at 5:18 PM #

    Cute dress mate but Oh my gosh look at that face! I want to eat him! Ahhh šŸ™‚

    • ZoSews March 9, 2014 at 5:21 PM #

      Hahaha I know right!

  2. Laurie March 9, 2014 at 5:28 PM #

    George is a doll! And your Flora is great!

  3. Vicki Kate March 9, 2014 at 6:11 PM #

    Beautiful, beautiful dress. Gorgeous, gorgeous George! And big hurrah for you getting the sewn so beautifully with everything else you’ve had going on!

    • ZoSews March 10, 2014 at 12:08 PM #

      Thanks Vicki! Yeah, it was a bit of a mission but got there in the end šŸ™‚

  4. sewbusylizzy March 9, 2014 at 7:08 PM #

    Gorgeous! I had the same problem with the width of the skirt – ended up cutting it as is – and then piecing in wedges to fill the gap – the print is so busy you can’t see them! Hurrah.
    Gorgeous dress – love it in the softer fabric.

    • ZoSews March 10, 2014 at 12:11 PM #

      Clever clogs! You can’t even see those pieced parts at all šŸ™‚

  5. sewamysew March 9, 2014 at 9:07 PM #

    I just love the pleats in the skirt, so flattering. I think you got the length spot on. So pretty!

  6. Gjeometry March 9, 2014 at 11:34 PM #

    OMG your new furry Georgie addition!!! Gah, I die he is so cute! Oh, and lovely new dress too! šŸ™‚

    • ZoSews March 10, 2014 at 12:13 PM #

      I die too! Every day when I have to leave him!! šŸ˜¦ Dogs should be allowed everywhere šŸ˜‰

  7. gingermakes March 10, 2014 at 12:59 AM #

    EEEP! New puppy!!!!! OK, back to the dress, it’s absolutely adorable and looks smashing on you!

    • ZoSews March 10, 2014 at 12:05 PM #

      Thanks lady! New puppy = not much else happening!! #iheartpuppy

  8. Kelly March 10, 2014 at 3:33 AM #

    Puppy!! He’s so sweet šŸ™‚ Your dress is gorgeous too. The By Hand London girls sure did a good job in procuring pattern testers – it’s hard to resist after seeing this barrage of beautiful Flora dresses in your feed!

    • ZoSews March 10, 2014 at 12:03 PM #

      He’s pretty damn sweet, unless he’s being naughty lol. There’s certainly some gorgeous Floras out there!

  9. Kirsty March 10, 2014 at 12:59 PM #

    This is a lovely dress and looks gorgeous on you. It’s good that the adjustment to fit into the width of the fabric doesn’t seem too bad because it’s not often that you can find that sort of width. Your puppy is sooo cute.

  10. Fooniks March 12, 2014 at 10:08 PM #

    Simply marvelous, I really love this dress/pattern. Not sure on how it would fit me though, but I love how it looks on everyone who has tested it. I love the print on your dress.

    Ooooh, look at that cutey-pie. So adorable. That puppy is just too…*insert giggly squeal* My experience with dogs tells me that the more innocent and pleading eyes, the more of a devilish little munchkin is behind those eyes šŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FLORA Nightshade, By Hand London ā€“ the PM edition | Sew Busy Lizzy - March 9, 2014

    […] Also see: Dolly Clackett | Gingermakes | Jolies Bobines | Diary of a Chainstitcher | A Stitching Odyssey | Dixie DIY | Nette | Lladybird | Zo Sews […]

  2. Working for Flora | VickikateMakes - March 10, 2014

    […] classic beauty, Fiona’s Pretty in Pink version, Lauren’s vibrant summer dress, Zoe’s chic monochrome number, Nette’s vibrant red dressĀ and Emily who selflessly made the dress for her sister! Ā If […]

Leave a comment