Every day I’m wiggling

26 May

Well not everyday, but I couldn’t get that line out of my head, so down it went.

So the big news is that I have finished my wearable muslin wiggle dress – woot! And, I love it – double woot! If you follow me on Instagram you may have caught a little sneaky peak last week. There is one slight zipper related issue that we won’t talk about, but it’s really quite minute and no-one else would ever notice it. Well that’s what I tell myself anyway.

Gertie's Wiggle Dress 1

And as this was originally planned as a Mad Med dress for Julia’s challenge (watched that deadline fly on by) it was inspired by this Joan Holloway number.

Now you’ve seen my gussets, but there’s a still a few other things to talk about here.

Gertie's Wiggle Dress 1

Hems

Given the ‘wearable muslin’ status of this dress it was not going to be lovingly hemmed by hand. That said, straight sewn hems irk me, which made for a great opportunity to try out my blind hem foot and stitch. Again, sneaky peak last week on Instragram. However for you non-Instagrammers, here’s how it went:

Gerties wiggle dress blind hem
Not ahhhmazing, however, still pretty good I think. I was happy anyway. And, interesting fact, apparently blind hem stitch is quite good for knits because it allows for the fabric stretching. Yes, write that down.

I didn’t want to lose any length, so I attached some wide black satin ribbon to the bottom of the dress, and then blind hemmed using it. Probably breaking some sewing god law, but wot-effa.

Gertie's Wiggle Dress 1

Sleeves

Due to my bulging biceps (tuck-shop lady arms really) the sleeves were a tad tight, so they were unpicked and re-stitched with only a 1cm seam allowance. They’re much better now, but I think a smidge too loose towards the bottom. Oh well.

They’re also a bit shorter than the pattern, maybe by 5cms due to pattern matching requirements.

I did cave and do the sleeve hems by hand.

Gertie's Wiggle Dress 1

Facings

Front facing – perfect! Two back facings – not perfect. For some unknown reason my two back facing pieces were way too short. I slashed and added 3cms to the length of the pattern piece and then recut and re-interfaced. This made them a little long, but at least they reached the zipper this way and nothing a little trimming couldn’t fix.

Gertie's Wiggle Dress 1

Zipper

The zipper was lapped as per Gertie’s instructions. I haven’t done a lapped zipper in a garment before! The only time I’ve done one was back at calico square stage all those years ago during my first ever sewing classes. I again took the quick and dirty option here and machined it in as opposed to hand picking. At first, I hated how it looked, but it’s grown on me a bit now, and I can’t see my back zipper when I’m wearing it anyway šŸ™‚

Gertie's Wiggle Dress 1

Overall, I must say that Gertie’s patterns really work for me. There were no other adjustments made for the wiggle dress, and it fits, like a glove! I think some of the pulling may have been avoided with underlining or a slip even, but again, wearable muslin = no underlining. Even when it’s not pulling, this beautiful polyester holds the creases from sitting etc.

Gertie's Wiggle Dress 1

Oh and I must mention this, today I found a pin in the dress. That alone = not funny. What makes it funny is that I wore the dress out a week ago for dinner and dancing, and washed it, with the pin in it. Didn’t get stabbed #ftw.

And, I’ve now cut this lovely lady out in the ‘real thing’ – a lovely royal blue wool crepe Ā all ready for sewing together. I’m just starting to get into Vine and have put a little video of the pattern cutting on there – anyone else using Vine? You can find me there at ZoSews, inspiring name I know.

Until next time… keep on sewin’

Z xx

29 Responses to “Every day I’m wiggling”

  1. Cirque Du Bebe May 26, 2013 at 9:54 PM #

    Oh VAVOOM. You and the dress should come with a warning! Absolutely stunning.

  2. Kirsty May 26, 2013 at 10:11 PM #

    Wow wow wow ! And this is the the muslin! It looks really really great. A perfect fit and what wonderful fabric. Oh and I’m loving the story of the lost pin. I reckon I’ll be laughing about that all week.

    • ZoSews May 27, 2013 at 9:22 PM #

      Oh wow, thanks for your wows, and happy to entertain šŸ˜‰

  3. Kelly May 27, 2013 at 2:18 AM #

    That dress fits like a glove! Fantastic job. It’s going to be fabulous in wool!

    • ZoSews May 27, 2013 at 9:23 PM #

      Thanks Kelly. And hopefully office appropriate in wool too!

  4. Red Point Tailor May 27, 2013 at 5:15 AM #

    Fabulous wearable muslin! I can see this dress already šŸ™‚ It will be sunning!

    • ZoSews May 27, 2013 at 9:23 PM #

      Ow thanks! Fingers crossed šŸ™‚

  5. Cynthia May 27, 2013 at 5:18 AM #

    BABE!!!!!!!!!

  6. Roxy May 27, 2013 at 7:18 AM #

    I can’t wait to see this in the final version! The fit looks really great. I’m actually planning a melbourne sewist wiggle dress event to announce very soon… I’ll let you know more!

    • ZoSews May 27, 2013 at 9:24 PM #

      That would be awesome! Thanks Roxy šŸ™‚ I can just imagine a bunch of crazy sewers wiggling down Collins St hahaha

  7. Sarah May 27, 2013 at 8:13 AM #

    I can’t wait to see this in wool! (Nice gussets by the way)

    • ZoSews May 27, 2013 at 9:25 PM #

      There’s something funny about the word gussets šŸ™‚

      • Sarah May 28, 2013 at 7:27 AM #

        Hehe, they always make me think of underpants first, not underarms!

  8. Neeno - Sew Me Love May 27, 2013 at 11:05 AM #

    HOT HOT HOT!!!!!!!!
    I LOVE IT~!!!!!!!!

    • ZoSews May 27, 2013 at 9:25 PM #

      Do it!! You would totally rock this dress!!

  9. gingermakes May 27, 2013 at 11:11 AM #

    Gorgeous!!!!! I love this! Can’t wait to see it in the wool crepe!

  10. poppykettle May 27, 2013 at 9:27 PM #

    Love this silhouette on you. You and Gertie were meant to be! I mean her patterns, of course!

  11. Tia Dia May 27, 2013 at 10:40 PM #

    Gorgeous. Love it!

  12. Candice May 27, 2013 at 11:15 PM #

    fantasitc dress!

  13. Gjeometry May 28, 2013 at 4:40 AM #

    Wow!!! Can’t believe this is only a muslin! It’s fantastic! Looks great on you and what lovely fabric.

  14. Bec Stitches May 28, 2013 at 10:20 AM #

    Gorgeous as always, love it šŸ™‚

  15. ShanniLoves... May 29, 2013 at 10:15 PM #

    Wow hot mama! Looks great on you! Glad to see the finished gussets. I’ve never heard of nor seen before and couldn’t picture what the finished gusset would look like.

  16. Jennifer Lauren May 30, 2013 at 11:46 AM #

    Oh Wow! This is so amazing! I love your gussets šŸ™‚ It fits you perfectly!!

  17. crystalpleats June 4, 2013 at 11:44 AM #

    This dress is fantastic. You look great!

  18. Renay July 28, 2013 at 10:11 PM #

    Amazing, look at that fabric! and the fit is amazing too. This pattern fit me straight outta the envelope too. I love it when that happens šŸ™‚

    • ZoSews August 4, 2013 at 5:39 PM #

      Thanks Renay! My wool crepe version has been waiting over 3 weeks for me to hem it… Must get to it!

Leave a Reply

