Why being a sewing blogger is awesome

19 Nov

There are so many reasons as to why blogging about sewing is awesome, too many for me to list in fact, but here’s just a couple of reasons that are making me feel warm and fuzzy at the moment.

1. #sewingsocial

I participated in my first #sewingsocial  (APAC) on Twitter  yesterday – what fun it was. Hosted by Thewallina we got busy talking about planning, stashing, commenting, blogging, feedback, birthdays, cutting, hemming and more! What a delightful and speedy 60 minutes it was. The Atlantic sewing social was held in our early morning too I believe. You can check out all the goss here.

2. Making friends all over the place

I love new people and I love overseas people and I love sewing. So sewing blogging is my perfect storm of goodness. Now I just need lots of money so I can fly all over the place to visit all my newfound friends 🙂

Speaking of which, I can’t wait to actually be able to get myself along to Melbourne meet up!! One day…

3. Inspiration, support, encouragement and feedback from every corner of the globe

I’m not sure I can even expand on this one. Tick, tick tick!!! I haven’t even been blogging 12 mths, but I’m completely hooked. In the most part due to you lovely people!

4. Opportunities

There are SO many out there! But here’s two I’m loving right now:

The lovely Hannah of Sinbad and Sailor (a new sewing pattern company in the UK) contacted me and asked if I would like to try out one of their patterns (complimentarily – is that a word? 🙂 ). Ummm, let me think. Heck yes, I would like to try one!!

I choose the Dove Fitted Tee. Thanks Hannah!! 🙂 Hannah was also kind enough to indulge us all with an interview, some pictures and a lovely reader surprise. Not telling any more now though, details to come over the next few weeks my pretties. But here’s a pic of the printed pattern, aren’t the illustrations gorgeous?

Pretty illustrations right?

I am also joining my first sewalong – pimp my pencil skirt – draft and sewalong with Frabjous Couture. I couldn’t say no to the stunning (and EXPENSIVE!!) Burberry inspiration garment. Now to try and find wool tweed in summer… I can’t wait to get started on this, Marina makes such beautiful garments, and sews ZoSews style – slow and steady! Perfect.

5. New mad skillz

Who would have thought I would be teaching myself how to use image editing software (very basically!!) and coding social media buttons on to a blog 12 months ago. Not I I tell you! How times change. And of course there’s all the sewing and drafting tricksies I learn from you wonderful folks.

There’s more surely, but that’s my starting point. So from me to y’all, you guys rock and get a massive thumbs up! ;p And, I heartily encourage anyone teetering around the edges of sewing blog land to take a beautiful swan dive right in, you won’t regret it 🙂

Enough of my gushing, what do you guys like about hanging out with other sewing addicts online?

Zxx

19 Responses to “Why being a sewing blogger is awesome”

  1. gingermakes November 20, 2012 at 4:05 AM #

    I couldn’t agree with you more! I love how supportive the online sewing community is! People take the time out of their busy days to offer kind suggestions when you’re trying to solve a problem, and they write up CRAZY helpful tutorials and tips. Not to mention they’re just generally very cool people. 🙂

    • ZoSews November 20, 2012 at 11:18 PM #

      The coolest people, who are very generous with the their time and expertise! 🙂

  2. ShanniLoves November 20, 2012 at 6:13 AM #

    It is super awesome! If it wasn’t for blogging I probably would of gave up already. Everyone is so encouraging and inspiring it just makes you want to sew your little heart out!

    • ZoSews November 20, 2012 at 11:19 PM #

      That’s such a sweet comment, I want to sew my little heart out now 🙂

  3. Vicki Kate November 20, 2012 at 6:37 AM #

    Well said! I completely agree. And that pattern illustration needs framing!

    • ZoSews November 20, 2012 at 11:19 PM #

      It’s gorgeous isn’t it!

  4. kaitui_kiwi November 20, 2012 at 8:24 AM #

    Sewing + Internetz = So much awesome!!1!

    😀

    • ZoSews November 20, 2012 at 11:20 PM #

      I want to go to your maths classes ;p

  5. Neeno - Sew Me Love November 20, 2012 at 9:23 AM #

    I love blogging just as much as sewing.
    The two go hand in hand. If I didn’t sew, I’d have nothing to blog about.
    If I didn’t blog, I wouldn’t be motivated to sew as often.

    🙂

    • ZoSews November 20, 2012 at 11:20 PM #

      So true! If I didn’t sew, any blog of mine would probably be one big whinge lol!

  6. Jacinta November 20, 2012 at 11:13 AM #

    I agree! I’ve been blogging for over 2 years but I started a sewing blog a few months ago and find the sewing community a lot more friendly, genuine and supportive.
    Oh and that Sinbad and Sailor patterns do look awesome! Looking forward to seeing what you’ve made. 🙂

    • ZoSews November 20, 2012 at 11:21 PM #

      I can’t wait to get cracking on the pattern!

  7. geebeew November 20, 2012 at 12:56 PM #

    Hurray for blogging – and thanks for reminding us all to take the time to be thankful! (How very American of us, being thankful in November and all! :P) It really is a treat to be part f such a fun and supportive community!

    • ZoSews November 20, 2012 at 11:28 PM #

      We don’t have Thanksgiving in Aus, but I really like the sentiment behind it! So a very nice coincidence 🙂

  8. poppykettle November 21, 2012 at 10:08 PM #

    YUp, I’m totally head over heels with the sewing blogosphere too 🙂

  9. Julia Bobbin November 22, 2012 at 5:19 PM #

    Lady when you’re right you’re right! There’s a whole lot of exciting stuff going on in the world of sewing and blogging

  10. sewbusylizzy November 24, 2012 at 9:22 AM #

    Ditto to all of the above. If you had told me a year ago I would be 1) sewing, 2) blogging and 3) seriously addicted to 1 & 2. I would have laughed. But you are right, it’s the people in blogland that really create the magic that keeps us all here.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Visual Diet Study and Pinterest and Me « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World - November 21, 2012

    […] what do we do about it?  Well, friends, we make our own media.  We take our own photos, with tripods and remotes or loved ones pressed into service.  We define […]

  2. WIP: Dove Fitted T « ZoSews - November 26, 2012

    […] I mentioned in my last post, Hannah from S&S contacted me and asked if I’d like to make this garment. I’ve now […]

Leave a Reply

