Where to from here? Project planning.

1 Oct

So I finished v8774 on the weekend. Hoorah! No photos as yet I’m sorry. Hopefully this weekend πŸ™‚

Meanwhile, I need to choose where to go next – keeping in mind summer is on its way here in Oz. I’m stuck, and feel that I’ve lost my sewing mojo, so I’d love some help from you guys in choosing my next project.

Here are my options (some good stashbusting is planned you’ll see – and sorry about the dodgy photos):

1. Sewaholic CambieΒ view A in a silvery blue cotton Sateen from Spotlight

Something I’d wear to the office.

2. Colette’s Ceylon in a Japanese cotton from Tessuti

Another one I think I’d wear to the office, but also out and about.


3. Wiksten Tova in Liberty cotton lawn from Tessuti

I think I would wear this flat out! I heart tunics – as you would have read in my Happy Homemade Shirred Tunic postΒ πŸ™‚

4. M6083 view B in a vintage reproduction cotton poplin from Spotlight

This would be great to get about in during the warmer months, and I think it could be dressed up or down. Do you think this fabric is too much? P.S: View B is the white one in the middle.

5. v8804 in Lisa Ho mustard wool and Scanlan and Theodore silk lining from The Fabric Store

I lurve this wool. Who am I kidding, I love the lining too. The photo doesn’t do either justice. I can see this as a cropped jacket. I actually found a picture of the ‘the’ Lisa Ho jacket that used this fabric, and surprise surprise it’s fabulous so I would really like to attempt an homage. You can see ‘the’ jacket on my Pinterest.


So they’re my options. Please help me choose!

 

Thanks for helping me find my mojo! Zxx

And the obligatory Austin Powers pic πŸ™‚

 

Click image for source

22 Responses to “Where to from here? Project planning.”

  1. Amanda Bimble October 1, 2012 at 9:37 PM #

    Okay, I’ve voted romper because I am a little obsessed with them at the moment but this or the Ceylon are the winners IMHO!

    • ZoSews October 1, 2012 at 9:47 PM #

      Thank you! I need help!! Only thing putting me off Ceylon are all of those ^%$## buttonholes. I had a massive fight with a buttonhole last weekend and I’m not sure I’m ready to talk to them again yet. πŸ™‚

  2. sewbusylizzy October 1, 2012 at 10:53 PM #

    I love the Ceylon and fabric combination!! That will look amazing!! I’m almost inspired to get the pattern (I’ve always felt I lack booty for that dress – as gorgeous as it is!).
    I’ve made three Cambies and always found them great fun to make, look fabulous and have a beautiful finish, a really rewarding and fun project if you are feeling stuck.

    • ZoSews October 2, 2012 at 7:45 PM #

      Maybe a Cambie is in order. It doesn’t look too hard. πŸ™‚ I think I need a bit of a quick win.

  3. Tia Dia October 1, 2012 at 11:09 PM #

    I’m loving the cambie. It was on my to-make list for the summer than never got completed. But I have to confess actually voting for the Liberty tunic. Love that fabric!

    • ZoSews October 2, 2012 at 7:46 PM #

      Thanks for voting! I think I would wear that yet to made tunic to death πŸ™‚

  4. punkmik October 1, 2012 at 11:30 PM #

    love the wiksten tova fabric combo! actually they all are great! mustard seems to be very popular again this year! πŸ˜€ Hope to see more pics soon! πŸ˜€ Glad you have ur mojo back!

    • ZoSews October 2, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

      I am leaning toward that tunic, would be such a winner… in my head anyway πŸ™‚

  5. Gabrielle October 1, 2012 at 11:39 PM #

    I had to vote for the blue Cambie – but really, talk about spoilt for choice! Any of these would be a great project! So many great fabric scores, so many appealing patterns!

    I think that Liberty would be beautiful for a tunic – I used the same fabric for a little vinatge top (a partial success) and it’s just lovely to sew with.

    • ZoSews October 2, 2012 at 7:48 PM #

      I really want them all now, of course! But without the hard work hahahaha

  6. soisewedthis.blogspot.com October 2, 2012 at 6:40 AM #

    I love that floral fabric for the ceylon. But if buttons are being annoying at the moment, maybe start with that tova top to get back in the swing of things.

    • ZoSews October 2, 2012 at 7:50 PM #

      A very good point. My machine hates buttonholes. So I do too πŸ˜‰ I had to actually use a different machine to get just one done on the weekend, was so sick of unpicking the hideous mess that my machine was creating!

  7. poppykettle October 2, 2012 at 8:21 AM #

    I’m totally for the cropped jacket (naturally) but I notice the cambie has taken the lead… went to a ‘social sewing’ day with a whole heap of melbourne bloggers on sat and EVERYONE was sewing a cambie. So I know I’m outnumbered πŸ˜›

    • ZoSews October 2, 2012 at 7:51 PM #

      There’s always one trouble maker isn’t there! πŸ˜‰ As much as I want that jacket, I’m not sure I’m up for such a battle at the moment.

  8. HouseOFpinheiro (@HouseOFpinheiro) October 2, 2012 at 8:22 PM #

    Ohh exciting plans

    • ZoSews October 2, 2012 at 8:42 PM #

      Just need to bring them to life now πŸ™‚

  9. gingermakes October 4, 2012 at 7:50 AM #

    Go for the Tova! If you love wearing tunics, you’ll be so excited to have a new one in your wardrobe! It looks like a total mojo-restorer. πŸ™‚

    • ZoSews October 5, 2012 at 10:01 PM #

      Tova is the winner!!! Yay πŸ™‚

  10. melbournegirls October 19, 2012 at 2:53 PM #

    The Tova would look great in that fabric but then the mustard wool with that lining … it was a hard choice but I voted Tova. Have fun whichever one you make first!

    • ZoSews October 19, 2012 at 8:42 PM #

      I just finished the Tova! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A rewarding week « ZoSews - October 20, 2012

    […] and the winning pattern and fabric combo in the vote for my next project was, drumroll, Tova – with 40% of the vote. So I made it. And I love it. Pictures to come. Thanks to those who […]

  2. Finished: Wiksten Tova « ZoSews - October 30, 2012

    […] Hah! Thanks to yourΒ voting, I finished my Tova a coupla weeks ago now. It was an easy make, and I heartily recommend it […]

Leave a Reply

