Shopping: I went

22 Jul

I hit The Fabric Store‘s sale this weekend and got me some fun new things to play with – I thought I’d share my haul with y’all.

1. Papercut Patterns Undercover Hood

This looks like it’s going to be a really quick make (yay!). And, could this packaging be any more fabulous?

 

I was a good girl and traced it off and washed my fabric yesterday. Like my fancy pattern weight?

I’m going to make the Undercover Hood in a delightful pink and grey striped Marc Jacobs knit, also from The Fabric Store. Here it isΒ  drying on the line. And, drum roll, I’m not making a toile – yep, this is me, rebelling.

 

2. Green and white silk

I’m planning to use this as lining for a Sewaholic Minoru πŸ™‚ Don’t hold your breath on that turning up though!

3. Black wool

And this is the planned outer fabric for the aforementioned Minoru – inspired by the black wool Minoru from Sew Brunswick!

4. Black and white silk

Last one, don’t know what this will end up as but I was attached so bought it anyway. Don’t judge – we’ve all been there πŸ˜‰ Let me know if you have any ideas!

I think The Fabric Store is my favourite fabric retailer in Melbourne – great range, I always seem to find things I like there, and finally the staff are really helpful, and lovely! My mustard jacket was made with fabric from there too πŸ™‚ (v8146 – nearly there and Presenting v8146)

What have you guys purchased lately?

Z xx

13 Responses to “Shopping: I went”

  1. theperfectnose July 22, 2012 at 6:09 PM #

    An ice cream maker.

    • ZoSews July 22, 2012 at 6:43 PM #

      Yum!!! Home made ice-cream!! Have you made any yet? I want one of those too…

      • theperfectnose July 22, 2012 at 9:25 PM #

        Ya made a mango one and a mex (choco+chilli) one tonight XD

      • ZoSews July 22, 2012 at 10:01 PM #

        Yumm!! Is it hard to do? Which machine did you get?

      • theperfectnose July 22, 2012 at 10:13 PM #

        Na. I got the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker, Metallic Red – 2L capacity, 19 x 19 x 28.5cm WDH. And I use full cream yogurt instead of milk. The texture comes out really nice plus you’re cutting out all the sugars ‘cuz the bacteria’ve already had ’em all.

  2. sewbusylizzy July 22, 2012 at 6:26 PM #

    A new camera to take blog photos on!
    And some red polka dot fabric to make a dress to display at work. Why? Oz Opera’s Don Giovanni is coming next month and we are having a best dressed competition so I’m making a Cambie in polka dot which is rather like one of the character’s costumes. Going to put it in a display cabinet in the foyer. My girlfriend called me up from Newcastle to tell me I will ‘LOVE’ this production because the setting is 1950s Italy and the costumes are to die for – not to mention she said it was incredibly funny and even though she’s not an opera fan, she loved every minute! She said it puts the soap back into opera!

    • ZoSews July 23, 2012 at 11:00 PM #

      Can’t wait to see some pics from the fun new toy – and pics of the new polka dot Cambie! Opera certainly sounds like it will be a good one, I’ve never been, but would like to – at least once.

      • sewbusylizzy July 25, 2012 at 5:58 PM #

        I saw Madame Butterfly and was not a fan – I don’t think it helped the air conditioning was too cold! Apparently this version of Don Giovanni by Oz Opera is fabulous, very funny and easy to watch/listen to – and the costumes are to-die-for. So pretty!
        I’ve finished the dress – it’s in the window at work already. I’ll have to take it off for some photos tomorrow night or over the weekend!

  3. poppykettle July 22, 2012 at 7:33 PM #

    ooh, nice haul! I just bought me a copy of that exact papercut patter (plus the ooh la leggings) in the hope of making some uber comfy lounge wear. It’s a way down the ‘to-do’ list though! Can’t wait to see how it works out for you. No toile? You Rebel you!!! I lurve that green and white silk though. The black and cream/white one is lovely too, but nothing popped into my brain as to what it should be. Goodluck with that πŸ™‚

    • ZoSews July 23, 2012 at 11:03 PM #

      What good taste in patterns you have πŸ˜‰ Apparently the leggings are fabulous too, but a bit long in the lower leg. I feel so naughty – but the big fat stripes are not playing nice at all. I can match the front sleeves, but don’t think I’m going to get the back to match and it’s going to drive me batty… The green and white silk is beautiful, a bit thin for lining, but I’ll just have to make it work πŸ™‚

  4. Kirsty S July 23, 2012 at 10:53 PM #

    Maybe the black and white silk could be a button up shirt? I’m thinking long sleeves, maybe some soft pleats off the front shoulder yoke? My shopping was also at the Fabric Store, but as it was over the phone and mailed to me I had to stick to plain colours in merino. The printed silks look luscious. I’m keen to see the undercover hood made up – I’ve been eyeing off that pattern too.

    • ZoSews July 23, 2012 at 11:19 PM #

      How funny, I was thinking something with buttons too! Thanks for the suggestion! The merinos are fab, such great colours πŸ™‚ What are you going to make with them? The pattern reads as quite easy, of course I had to complicate it by using stripes.. big, fat, annoying stripes. I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to get the front and back to line up on the sleeve *sigh*.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finished: Undercover Hood « ZoSews - September 1, 2012

    […] recommend this pattern. I would like to try it out in a merino too I think… Oh yeah, and the packaging is devine! Share this with your friends:MoreLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

