Are you Kollabora-ing?

20 Jun

I joined Kollabora recently. And that’s as far as I got. Until tonight when I read The Curious Kiwi’s post mentioning that she too had joined.

This prompted to me jump back over, have a better look and upload a project – my recent Beignet in fact.

I still haven’t quite figured this Kollabora business out, but I do have an overwhelming urge to use ‘k’s’ instead of ‘c’s’ now. I guess that’s something 🙂

Are you Kollabora-ing? Join, follow, like, friend (whatever you do over there) me!

kollabora logo

16 Responses to “Are you Kollabora-ing?”

  1. sewbusylizzy June 20, 2012 at 8:53 PM #

    I’ve joined. And uploaded one project. I think it needs to get a critical mass of members to work. It’s a nice interface.
    I ‘won’ a prize in the launch for my Port Paris dress but can’t figure who or where to contact. As they certainly have not contacted me as far as I can tell.
    I don’t mind at all but I do feel a little ‘used’. I work in marketing and I think follow-through would have been as valuable for generating more goodwill and social media energy.

    • ZoSews June 20, 2012 at 10:11 PM #

      It is a gorgeous dress 🙂 Disappointing about the lack of follow through regarding the prize though – so important to deliver… Hopefully they’ll be in touch with you soon! It’s interesting watching all these new sites/communities crop up (sewing and non-sewing related) and seeing how the target communities respond/engage – both short and long term. I’ll go and try and find you on this one now 🙂

      • sewbusylizzy June 20, 2012 at 10:29 PM #

        Found me! I need to figure out my name… this is what happens when your parents & husband call you by your middle name and the rest of the world your first. I have no preference but it makes life confusing!!!
        On the upside I’m new to the online sewing community and even my husband is amazed at how nice this little niche is in the world. I’m a happy little pippie in this rock pool, prizes or not. I love new followers though as its more people to talk to!
        I envy you peeps in cities with fabric shop choices!! 🙂

      • ZoSews June 21, 2012 at 6:36 PM #

        I must agree – everyone is lovely! I’m pretty new too. Have only been an ‘active’ contributor for the past few months. But I was very well versed in lurking before that! :o)

      • sewbusylizzy June 21, 2012 at 7:26 PM #

        Well if you are a lurker… better make a trench coat!

      • ZoSews June 21, 2012 at 10:23 PM #

        hahaha must add it to the list 😉

    • Lindsey June 21, 2012 at 5:48 AM #

      Hey sewbusylizzy – email me at lindsey@kollabora.com with your address and we’ll get your prize sent out asap!

      Thanks,
      Lindsey

      • sewbusylizzy June 21, 2012 at 10:24 AM #

        Thanks Lindsey!

      • ZoSews June 21, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

        Glad you’re getting your prize now! Will have to let me know what it is so I can get all jealous and stuff 😉

      • sewbusylizzy June 21, 2012 at 7:26 PM #

        No doubt I’ll blog and tweet about it with revolting smug glee LOL

      • ZoSews June 21, 2012 at 10:26 PM #

        I look forward to grovelling around in the land of non-kollabora-prize winners at your feet 😉 hahaha

  2. kaitui_kiwi June 21, 2012 at 7:02 AM #

    I’m “following” you now too 🙂

  3. Crafting A Rainbow June 21, 2012 at 8:53 AM #

    Hurray! Lizzy, I’m glad to see Lindsay from Kollabora contacting you! 🙂
    I feel like Kollabora *might* be a network that catches on, but I’ve signed up for so many that haven’t that i’m a little jaded! Silly as it seems, I think this one might work more because of it’s modern graphic styling than because it’s actually any different or better. I think appearance matters in the blogging world!
    On the other hand… Do I feel like signing in? Nah, not really.

  4. Maycie After Five June 23, 2012 at 1:39 AM #

    I signed up a little while ago, but I haven’t been back since. I really should check it out again. Thanks for the reminder!

  5. theperfectnose July 21, 2012 at 4:50 PM #

    Ya I’ve joined and (this is something I discussed with KKiwi) it seemed very focused on selling stuff and not even doing that well. But perhaps that’s just teething troubles? Dunno but I decided to try it for a bit before dismissing it totally (I mean it’s easier on the eye than pattern review- although that’s not very hard to manage.. XS).

    • ZoSews July 21, 2012 at 9:29 PM #

      I keep trying too, but I’m still not sure I completely get it! Though I did order two patterns off there today – 30% off :o) But they only seem to ship US so I had to use one of those forwarding places.

Leave a Reply

