Beignet is finito

17 Jun

Those of you who follow my ramblings may recall that I have been working on a Beignet.

Well, I am pleased to report that it is now finished. Honestly, it’s not rocking my world, but I think that’s due to fabric choice, because the fit is great – though if I make it again I think I’d lengthen it even more, ever so slightly.

Beignet Right

Fashion fabric is a pin cord from Spotlight, and I lined it with a yellow Habutai from Darn Cheap Fabrics – which was an absolute nightmare to work with. Don’t do it to yourself! ;p

Beignet left

Alterations made

  • Shaping at the waist
  • Lengthen hem by 4cm
  • Widened front pieces at centre front to avoid any potential gaping

I did also put a lot of effort into working/matching the pattern as best as possible. For example, all the belt loops have a red flower in the middle.

Beignet front

That’s it! Work continues on my jeans and bombshell dress 🙂

Have you made up the Beignet, what did you think?

Z xx

21 Responses to “Beignet is finito”

  1. Crafting A Rainbow June 17, 2012 at 3:14 PM #

    Cute fabric! I haven’t made a Beignet yet – a little intimidated by all the pieces! I do love everyone else’s versions though!

    • ZoSews June 18, 2012 at 6:37 PM #

      The pieces can get confusing! I’d recommend making a little code on the undersides of your fabric and just make sure you keep matching them up properly 🙂

  2. neeno June 17, 2012 at 4:57 PM #

    very cute fabric! I was actually looking at corded fabric today at spotty!

    • ZoSews June 18, 2012 at 6:38 PM #

      Cord is so underrated! ;p

  3. sewbusylizzy June 17, 2012 at 5:09 PM #

    Great – isn’t everyone their own greatest critic? I want to make Ginger. However I have to finish off Hazel first, while I love Colette patterns they are hard work – instructions are perfect but the sizing doesn’t work for me so it takes me ages to get then to fit properly. Sigh. I must not be the ‘modern woman’ Colette designs for I guess.

    • ZoSews June 18, 2012 at 6:40 PM #

      I do agree (re: everyone being their own greatest critic). Especially after staring at a particular garment for so long during construction, by the time I’m finished, sometimes I never want to see the thing again lol!

      • sewbusylizzy June 18, 2012 at 7:33 PM #

        I hang mine up in my bedroom until we are friends again!

  4. Julia Bobbin June 17, 2012 at 6:34 PM #

    Love it Miss! Gorgeous as usual, nice to see the finished project!

    • ZoSews June 18, 2012 at 6:40 PM #

      Oh thank you lady! Are you back? I can’t freaking wait to hear stories and see purchases!!!!

  5. Melizza June 17, 2012 at 7:08 PM #

    What gorgeous fabric. You have a very pretty Beignet there!

    • ZoSews June 18, 2012 at 6:42 PM #

      Thanks Melizza 🙂 I’m glad others like the fabric! I still seem to be on the fence. I think I just need to steer clear of patterns on the *ahem* ‘lower half’.

  6. Leith June 17, 2012 at 9:20 PM #

    I am adding this pattern to my Colette shopping list. I also badly want the Hazel dress. Lovely skirt.

    • ZoSews June 18, 2012 at 6:43 PM #

      Thanks Leith 🙂 I’ve had this pattern for at least 12 months I’d think – glad I finally got to it!

  7. Christine June 18, 2012 at 1:55 AM #

    I saw this on Burdastyle, and I had to comment. It looks great! I love that you used a patterned corduroy.

    sewcollegiatechristine.blogspot.com

    • ZoSews June 18, 2012 at 6:43 PM #

      Thanks so much for your comment Christine! I’m glad you like it 🙂

  8. Wendy July 4, 2012 at 9:33 AM #

    Oooh .. This is the first Beignet I recall seeing in a patterned fabric, and I really like it. A LOT! And corduroy, yum!

    • ZoSews July 4, 2012 at 8:14 PM #

      Thanks so much Wendy!

  9. So Zo July 13, 2012 at 5:58 AM #

    So cute! I’ve never seen a patterned Beignet, looks great. Zoe xxx

    • ZoSews July 13, 2012 at 9:34 PM #

      Aww thanks 🙂 From one Zoe to another! What a great name you have 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Are you Kollabora-ing? « ZoSews - June 20, 2012

    […] prompted to me jump back over, have a better look and upload a project – my recent Beignet in […]

  2. Skills check: How far have I come? « ZoSews - September 17, 2012

    […] Machine worked buttonholes – Beignet, V1186 […]

Leave a Reply

