And the Bombshell is off and running

8 Jun

I have no fashion fabric (but I know what I want); I have minimal notions. But I have loads of enthusiasm, a pattern and calico galore! So let the bombshell commence. And I also have a long weekend – happy birthday to HRM Elizabeth II, and thank you for the day off! (Yes, I know it’s not her real birthday.)

And yes, I also understand I am working on jeans at the moment – but no-one said creation was a linear process – and watching Caffy’s dress emerge has inspired me no end!

So so far Gertie’s bombshell dress is dress of firsts for me;

  • First Burda pattern
  • First time transfer paper and wheel used
  • First time dealing with freestyle seam allowances (leaving guesstimated allowances)
  • First time thread tracing

I must say, I am intrigued as to what the point of thread tracing is… I’m sure I’ll find out soon enough though!

I am making an adjustment to the pattern straight away, grading up from my bust size 40, to waist size 42 – I’m making an educated guess, but I do miss the waist point markers you’d usually get with, say a Vogue pattern.

Also, hot tip from me to you – don’t use yellow transfer paper with calico. It looks like this:

Pattern tracing

Which is why – you guessed it – I then went over all my markings again with my orange marker.

Here is the offending paper (can you believe it was nearly $10! 16c a centimetre, a centimetre – what a laugh!) and the results of my hard work.

Next up – thread tracing. (Honestly, I was supposed to thread trace tonight, but Fashion Star has just started showing in Australia and it popped up on my TV and distracted me…)

Zxx

6 Responses to “And the Bombshell is off and running”

  1. Tia Dia June 9, 2012 at 12:46 AM #

    Wheee! I’m looking forward to this! The tracing is tedious, but it does make for an accurate fit. I remember as a child using my mom’s tracing paper. She had white for darker fabrics, I guess.

    • ZoSews June 13, 2012 at 8:41 PM #

      Yep I bought the yellow paper thinking about the final fabric (navy) rather than the calico – duh to me! I’ve traced now and made my first bodice – fit is right off but I now understand the thread tracing, and may actually get addicted to it… Bodice #2 here we come!

  2. poppykettle June 9, 2012 at 12:37 PM #

    Can’t wait to see the result Zo – I’ve got this course and have watched it twice with fascinated intent, but have yet to start the process. Such a good course – hope it doesn’t require too much adjustment for you! πŸ™‚

    • ZoSews June 13, 2012 at 8:44 PM #

      I haven’t even watched the whole thing yet – naughty naughty! I think there is going to be a fair bit of adjustment – I’m tired right now so the thought of it makes me sigh, but I guess it’s just more practice practice practice πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beignet is finito « ZoSews - June 17, 2012

    […] it! Work continues on my jeans and bombshell […]

  2. Special delivery! « ZoSews - August 25, 2012

    […] a bit tardy in actually completing my bombshell dress – fitting is getting me down – and I had really crappy tracing paper to work with, but […]

Leave a Reply

