Happy day of mothers!

13 May

It’s Mother’s Day! I am not a mother, so the day is not for me, but happy mother’s day to all the mummies out there! Hopefully your offspring have remembered to recognise you in some way, shape or form.

I may not be a mother, but I did however embrace the day by joining in this year’s Mother’s Day Classic for the first time with a group of folks from the office. I was convinced (peer pressured) into joining the 8km run rather than the 4km. We attempted some training, but the furthest we ever got was about 3.5km – there were lots of hills in that 3.5km though! So, anyway, I was skeptical as to whether I could in fact complete this so-called ‘run’ without ‘walking’. And there was also Melbourne’s charming weather to deal with, it was freezing, hang on, no it was sunny, hang on, no it was actually raining – oh what the heck, it was all of the above! Typical…

So what happened?

I RAN THE WHOLE THING! ALL 8 KILOMETRES! Needless to say, i was pretty darn happy with myself šŸ™‚ My time was rather average, I think it was 61mins in total – but I don’t care, because I ran the whole thing! And, the only way is up right? And by ‘up’ I mean ‘down’ in time.

On the downside, I didn’t get any photos of me or the folks I did it with to share with you. But here’s a shot of the start of loooong queue to drop off your bag. (Doesn’t Melbourne look pretty..?)

MDC Melbourne bag drop

And here’s a shot of my medal/keyring/lanyard šŸ™‚

MDC medal

So that’s my story. And the Mother’s Day Classic is actually a fundraising event, so if are inclined to sponsor me – yes, even retrospectively – please feel free. Funds go towards breast cancer research. Go on, it’s a good cause.

Apart from this, my weekend has been quite productive actually – amongst other, more boring things I’ve been working on my Beignet, made a delish pasta and self saucing chocolate pudding, and I have a pork belly marinating now… mmm pork belly. What have you been up to? Mothers – did you have a nice day?

Zxx

7 Responses to “Happy day of mothers!”

  1. neeno May 13, 2012 at 3:10 PM #

    Go you!!!!! Running 8km, that’s great! The longest I can run for is 3-4 mins on a treadmill. and kudos to you for running in that heavy rain!!!!!!!

    • ZoSews May 13, 2012 at 5:37 PM #

      Thank you! It wasn’t too heavy, so it was kind of refreshing actually šŸ™‚ Until afterwards when I got cold lol!

  2. Leith May 13, 2012 at 4:44 PM #

    Zoe!! I thought I saw you. We passed each other after the run. And we must have finished at the same time! 1.01hr when I passed the finish line. Well done us!

    • ZoSews May 13, 2012 at 5:35 PM #

      Oh wow! I thought I saw you too! Bugger – it actually was you, how rude of me – sorry! We’re so in synch – start blogging together, same time to run hahaha šŸ™‚

      • Leith May 14, 2012 at 9:53 PM #

        You looked a lot better than I did after the run!! By the time I realised it was you, you were lost in a sea of people. Don’t worry, one day we will meet in person. We’ll have to follow the London people and have a Melbourne sewing bloggers meet up!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Winner winner chicken dinner! « ZoSews - May 20, 2012

    […] may have read also that I was the winner of a brooch from JuliaBobbin / RueMiraldi. With all these prizes coming my way, I think I should be buying a […]

  2. Mothers Day Classic 2012: From kevinthaiphotos.com - Just Kevin - December 11, 2012

    […] zosews.com, modified by […]

Leave a Reply

