Presenting v8146

6 May

It’s finished! Just in time for the early winter we seem to be experiencing, I’ve finished my first mustard delight, v8146. I’ve already spilled the details of the alterations etc in a previous post ‘v8146 – nearly there‘, so now I can regale you with photos 🙂 And I’ll throw in a few fun facts too.

Fun facts start now:

There was just under 5 metres of seam binding involved in my rendition of v8146. I think it looks pretty. I could have got away without finishing the seams with this fabric, but decided to bind certain seams just in case anyone ever gets a look at them.

v8146 seam binding

v8146 seam binding

The delightful lining was cut to match up and replicate on both the right and left sides.

Exhibit A: lining on one side

v8146 lining left

Lining on one side

Matches Exhibit B, lining on the other side…

v8146 lining other side

Ta da – matchy matchy!

Oh yeah, and the lining at the cuffs also matches.

v8146 cuffs

More matchy 🙂

Here’s a look at the buttons (well a button anyway!) I sewed these on over the top of the magnets. This was a challenge to start with, but then I came up with some weird way to sew them on which worked.

v8146 final button

And here’s the final product!

v8146 front

v8146 the back

Let me know what you think!

Don’t you just love finishing a project!? It’s the perfect opportunity to start something new 😉 I’m now knee deep in a Beignet – can’t wait to finish! Of course 😉

Z xx

29 Responses to “Presenting v8146”

  1. abirdworthknowing May 6, 2012 at 2:24 PM #

    It’s a great coat! Love the color!

    • ZoSews May 6, 2012 at 8:13 PM #

      Thank you! I was obsessed with the colour when I bought it 🙂

  2. Julia Bobbin May 6, 2012 at 3:21 PM #

    Oh I love it so much! The mustard is wonderful and the lining looks so pretty on the inside. Well done madam.

  3. neeno May 6, 2012 at 3:41 PM #

    Oh my goodness this is adorable!!! I love mustard!!! The color and the condiment!
    x

    • ZoSews May 6, 2012 at 8:15 PM #

      Thank you! I love the colour too, not so into the condiment though hahahaha

  4. Every Stitch May 6, 2012 at 3:51 PM #

    I love the lining – RTW tend to stick in a vaguely matching lining and give it no further thought. Coordinating the lining is a really expensive looking touch, and as for matching the pattern both sides – such attention to detail – great work

    • ZoSews May 6, 2012 at 8:18 PM #

      Thank you! I agree, lining is often forgotten, or just plain boring. One of the beautiful things about making your clothes is having some funky lining I think 🙂

  5. Mandy May 6, 2012 at 6:59 PM #

    Looks lovely Zo. Very impressed by your matching lining

    • ZoSews May 6, 2012 at 8:19 PM #

      Thank you mother 🙂

  6. prttynpnk May 6, 2012 at 7:43 PM #

    Something to be very proud of, indeed. Lovely.

    • ZoSews May 6, 2012 at 8:19 PM #

      Thanks so much 🙂

  7. Tia Dia May 6, 2012 at 11:41 PM #

    I love the yellow and that BUTTON!!! And 5 m of seam binding is a lot of binding. :0 Your jacket is cheery and the lining is whimsical! Love it!

    • ZoSews May 7, 2012 at 7:22 PM #

      Thank you! The buttons are coconut!

  8. ooobop! May 7, 2012 at 2:37 AM #

    Oh what a fabulous coat. Amazing choice of colour and I love your seam binding. I’m beginning to realize that details like these, whether they are seen by anyone else or not, make the whole garment so much more special and precious. Definitely one to wear with pride! 🙂

    • ZoSews May 7, 2012 at 7:23 PM #

      Thank you! I agree – the pretty little details make it more special, only if you’re the only one who ever sees them 🙂

  9. poppykettle May 9, 2012 at 8:26 AM #

    ooooh… matchy matchy! I have a BIG thing for seam binding… you’re pulling on my heart strings badly here! First sewing relating thing on my to-do list when I get back… sew some seam binding! Love the bright yellow swing coat – looks gorgeous!!!

    • ZoSews May 9, 2012 at 8:53 PM #

      Oh thank you! Seam binding is pretty :o) And I didn’t do the whole 5m at once so it wasn’t too painful either! Enjoy the rest of your trip and don’t think about binding too much ;P

  10. Karen May 11, 2012 at 8:06 PM #

    Umm I freakin love it! Just wish it got cold enough in Brisneyland to wear something like that.

    • ZoSews May 11, 2012 at 8:29 PM #

      Umm I freaking love the term ‘Brisneyland’!!! I know about Brisvegas, but this is new. Noted addition to vocabulary 🙂

  11. theperfectnose May 21, 2012 at 1:43 PM #

    Love it. I’m thinking of making a coat out of some yellow fabric I bought last year and have been scouring the net for inspiration.

    • ZoSews May 21, 2012 at 8:39 PM #

      Thank you! Good luck with your coat – yellow is so cheery 🙂

  12. Meredith May 26, 2012 at 4:57 AM #

    This is so gorgeous I love a mustard coat!! and with a lining yours is even better than the original pattern!

    • ZoSews May 26, 2012 at 11:10 PM #

      Thanks Meredith! 🙂

  13. ansopeace May 28, 2012 at 12:10 AM #

    it is really nice this coat .. how did you put the liner? have you got a tuto? I am a beginner in sewing …
    ps: sorry for my english…

    thanks!

    • ZoSews May 28, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

      Hi ansopeace! Thanks for your lovely words 🙂 The lining was attached at the neck, and at the cuffs, but it hangs loose at the bottom – but was made as a separate piece complete piece first. Does that help? I don’t have a tutorial sorry. This one was a bit tricky because there was no lining pieces as part of the pattern so I went off on my own… while also matching up the pattern. Don’t apologise, your English is great – better than any other language is for me! 🙂

      • ansopeace June 7, 2012 at 7:38 AM #

        ok!
        I would follow your advice! thanks !!
        I can’t wait to see your jeans! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shopping: I went « ZoSews - July 22, 2012

    […] I think The Fabric Store is my favourite fabric retailer in Melbourne – great range, I always seem to find things I like there, and finally the staff are really helpful, and lovely! My mustard jacket was made with fabric from there too (v8146 – nearly there and Presenting v8146) […]

  2. Skills check: How far have I come? « ZoSews - September 17, 2012

    […] sleeves – V8164, Undercover […]

Leave a Reply

