V8146 – nearly there!

22 Apr

I had some divine mustard wool/cashmere blend (I think!) from The Fabric Store sitting around that was just begging to become a coat. One night while reviewing my pattern stash I thought, “Hang on a minute! I’ll use v8146 to create my first mustard delight”. I say ‘first’ because I have another mustard coat/jacket planned – obsessed much? Anyway, the only thing that irked me about v8146 is that it wasn’t lined, but I decided mine would be anyway 🙂

I jumped on the old Google to search for examples of others who had made this jacket, but I could only find the completed dress at Textisles and completed jacket at Orchids In May. Maybe there are more out there and I am just a bad searcher 🙂

V8146

The details so far…

To start with…

  • I cut a size 14 pattern based on bust size.
  • After paper fitting, I added 20cm to jacket length, and 10cm to the sleeve length pattern pieces. I have a long body and before adding the length it sat much too high – more like a bolero, and I wanted more length in the body and full length sleeves – rather than the 3/4 sleeves the pattern provides for.

After toile…

After completing and trying on the toile;

  • I added another 3cm to the sleeve length, another 5cm to the jacket length (to allow for hems) and 1cm width to the underarm to allow for movement in the thicker wool fabric and to avoid the lining splitting.
  • I also drafted a lining pattern for the jacket front, but planned to use other pattern pieces as is for lining pattern.
  • Decided that I didn’t actually want the collar as per pattern, which led to drafting a neck line facing, and some edits to the lining pattern pieces.
  • The lining fabric has a gorgeous pattern on it, so it was cut to make sure the pattern was highlighted appropriately :o) This meant that I actually ran out of the patterned lining and I didn’t have enough for the full sleeves. Enter another pattern alteration. Sleeves were slashed into two pieces (upper and lower), and the patterned fabric was used for the lower pieces so that if the cuffs were rolled up your eyes are delighted with pretty patterns, and the upper sleeves that aren’t really visible were made from some newly acquired lining in a complementary colour.
  • The mustard fashion fabric doesn’t fray so I didn’t have to finish the edges – yay! However, I did bind a few particular seams that may see the light of day in a satin mustard bias binding.
  • I have giant coconut buttons to add. But buttonholes at the size required would be unsightly. So instead I’m using magnets for closures, with the buttons sewn on for looks only 🙂

You would have seen a little splash of this jacket and the seam binding as a work in progress in A new winter wooly, and here’s a shot of the magnets being tacked in.

Magnets into v8146

And the giant coconut buttons…

Buttons for v8146

Did you know…

Now, if you ‘like’ ZoSews on Facebook, you may have seen my post yesterday – so my apologies for repeating! But, for those of you who didn’t see it,  did you know that an odd number of buttons is more pleasing to the eye ? It’s true! So while I do have four buttons above, I will only be using three 🙂

Anyway, hopefully I’ll have this jacket finished soon!

Z xx

PS – I awoke today to see that I had won a gorgeous brooch from Ruemiraldi via a giveaway over at JuliaBobbin! Must be my lucky day – thanks team!

17 Responses to “V8146 – nearly there!”

  1. Stephanie Radion April 22, 2012 at 3:53 PM #

    oooo I love those buttons & the mustard wool is just the perfect colour. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    • ZoSews April 22, 2012 at 8:58 PM #

      Thanks Stephanie! I can’t wait to finish it 🙂

  2. prttynpnk April 22, 2012 at 8:19 PM #

    THis is sounding lovely- can’t wait to saee more- where did you get your magnets?

    • ZoSews April 22, 2012 at 8:59 PM #

      Got them at Darn Cheap Fabric 🙂 I did a bit of a ring around, button shops in Brighton and Malvern didn’t stock them, so I ended up at Darn Cheap.

  3. ruemiraldi April 22, 2012 at 8:50 PM #

    Hi Zoe,
    Congratulations on winning the brooch from Julia Bobbin and thank you for acknowledging my site! I hope you enjoy wearing the brooch – it really is quite gorgeous.
    Now I have another sewing blog to read and enjoy!
    Best Regards,
    Lorraine

    • ZoSews April 22, 2012 at 9:03 PM #

      My pleasure Lorraine! Thank you for the brooch – it is gorgeous! Glad you like the blog 🙂

      • ruemiraldi April 22, 2012 at 9:12 PM #

        Zoe, Sorry my comment got posted twice…..I didn’t think the first one worked. So pleased you like the brooch.
        Will have to read all your earlier posts now!
        Lorraine

  4. ruemiraldi April 22, 2012 at 8:58 PM #

    Hi Zoe,
    Congratulations on winning the brooch from Julia Bobbin and that you for acknowledging my ruemiraldi ebay site! I hope you enjoy wearing the brooch – it really is quite gorgeous.
    Now I have another lovely sewing blog to read and enjoy.
    Best regards,
    Lorraine

  5. Tia Dia April 23, 2012 at 4:14 AM #

    I have this pattern in my stash, too, and although I’m smitten with the jacket, am almost positive it wouldn’t be a good fit on me. But I am planning to use the dress pattern to perfect a sheath pattern for myself. I have in my mind’s eye a mustard coat, too. I love the colour of mustard!

    • ZoSews April 24, 2012 at 2:26 PM #

      Good luck with the dress! Look forward to seeing what you do with it! And a mustard coat 🙂

  6. Julia April 23, 2012 at 11:32 AM #

    Lady I’m totally stoked you won one of the brooches! You are going to look smashing in it! So excited for the big reveal of your beautiful mustard coat. It’s going to be delicious!

    • ZoSews April 24, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

      You’re stoked?! I’m stoked – I get a new brooch 😉

  7. neeno April 23, 2012 at 9:13 PM #

    Congrats on the win u lucky girl:)
    Mustard, mustard, every where and nor a drop to drink 😉 I am OBSESSED with mustard at the moment too!!!!!!!!

    • ZoSews April 24, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

      Thank you! It seems to be the colour of the moment hey!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Renfrew you, Renfrew me « ZoSews - April 28, 2012

    […] and I am so so close to the finish line with my v8146, half a hand stitched hem and some prick stitching to go!! Share this with your friends:MoreLike […]

  2. Presenting v8146 « ZoSews - May 6, 2012

    […] v8146. I’ve already spilled the details of the alterations etc in a previous post ‘v8146 – nearly there‘, so now I can regale you with photos And I’ll throw in a few fun facts […]

  3. Shopping: I went « ZoSews - July 22, 2012

    […] the staff are really helpful, and lovely! My mustard jacket was made with fabric from there too (v8146 – nearly there and Presenting […]

Leave a Reply

