Samurai pants

9 Apr

I lurve wide legged pants, they’re so comfortable and I think flattering – maybe only because I’m relatively tall though.

Anyway, when I saw v1186, I couldn’t resist. The jacket didn’t really rock my world, but boy oh boy those pants did!

v1186 Issey Miyake

v1186 Issey Miyake from Vogue

I made these out a  mystery black fabric from Cutting Edge Fabrics, it’s some kind of blend, and it’s heavy and drapey – and lovely to wear! I lined them with purple charmeuse, from Spotlight. And they remind of pants Samurai would wear (or hakama), hence this post’s title 🙂

Here is the photo overload!

v1186

v1186

v1186

v1186

v1186

v1186

“Were there any adjustments to the pattern?”, I hear you ask. Of course there were 😉

Adjustments

  • Mock fly front – this was easy to do, I just followed Connie Amaden Crawford’s instructions from A Guide to Fashion Sewing
  • Added 7 cm in length between the waistline and crotch line

Other details

  • Naughty naughty, I didn’t add the lace around the hems. I intended to, I swear! I bought the lace, and had it ready to go, but then was too impatient. I did still hand stitch them up though 🙂
  • This was the first time I got to play with buttons and button holes. I haven’t done any since – need I say more 😉 Nah, it was ok, I’m just a little particular so it took me quite a few times to get it close to perfect. (I was going for ‘perfect’, but my impatient nature kicked in again, so ‘close to’ had to do 🙂  )
  • I didn’t do the French Tack between the lining and fashion fabric, I don’t think it’s made a difference.
  • If I were to make these again, I’d have a go at an alteration to remove the bunching fabric at my lower back.

These were the first pants I made, and I love them and wear them all the time. Win.

And in other news, I’ve extended my foray into gardening. I only have a small balcony so not much space to play with, but I started with potted herbs (coriander died and was replaced with a strawberry), and now I’ve graduated to a lime tree and lemon tree. Let’s see how long I can keep them alive!

Potted herb garden

My potted herb garden - thyme, Italian parsley, oregano, rosemary and a strawberry

Sublime lime and Meyer lemon

My lime and lemon trees

Z xx

PS – If Easter’s your thing, hope you had a good one!

9 Responses to “Samurai pants”

  1. Belinda April 9, 2012 at 5:34 PM #

    Love these pants!! Don’t think my somewhat shorter stature could pull them off quite so elegantly… Lovely Zo! 🙂

    • ZoSews April 10, 2012 at 7:27 PM #

      Oh I’m sure you could! 🙂

  2. Julia Bobbin April 9, 2012 at 5:45 PM #

    You are a total rock star in those pants! Love the purple 🙂

    • ZoSews April 10, 2012 at 7:28 PM #

      hahaha, rockin’ out 🙂

  3. Tia Dia April 9, 2012 at 11:40 PM #

    They’re wonderful! And the purple lining is the finishing touch!

    • ZoSews April 10, 2012 at 7:30 PM #

      Thanks Tia Dia! 🙂

  4. Leith April 26, 2012 at 10:15 PM #

    I have these pants. They’re wonderful. I made them out of a lightweight denim. Thankfully I made them straight up without any alterations.

    • ZoSews April 26, 2012 at 11:00 PM #

      Wow, I’d love to see them in denim. I wouldn’t have thought of that, but I bet they’re fabulous!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skills check: How far have I come? « ZoSews - September 17, 2012

    […] zipper – V1186, V1156, […]

Leave a Reply

