A new winter wooly

27 Mar

In Melbourne, you can definitely tell that winter is rearing its ugly head – even though we’re only in the first month of Autumn! (I am one for summer – can you tell?)

But I guess one benefit of winter is that you get to pull out your cosy winter woolies.

And here’s my latest winter wooly addition. I love how cosy it is. Mother of ZoSews knitted it for me and I wore for the first time on the weekend.

Fair Isle Alpaca

It’s made out of Alpaca and it’s very warm. I wore it to my friend’s 30th birthday do, and I got so hot in it that I had to remove it and borrow some cooler clothes!

Fair Isle alpaca knit

This jumper came about because I decided after Christmas that I wanted to learn to knit, and this fair isle jumper was the pattern I selected to start with. Hahaha! I think mother of ZoSews took pity on me and my naivety and quickly offered to knit this for me while also suggesting that perhaps I start with something more simple. So I made a hat instead (photos to come).

And just to up the ante, I made mother of ZoSews knit with double threads because I didn’t want the pattern prescribed yarn for this jumper (it was yukky and synthetic) and the alpaca yarn was too fine to use as a single thread. Mwah ha ha ha!

Fair isle alpaca knitted jumper

Brrrrr it's cold!

I think it turned out just lovely. I will have to save it for particularly cold occasions though!

Do you knit? I started to because I thought it was a nice option for something to do when I don’t want to barricade myself away at a sewing machine to sew.

And speaking of sewing, here’s a glimpse of one of my WIPs…

v8146 seam binding

Z xx

14 Responses to “A new winter wooly”

  1. Mandy March 28, 2012 at 6:53 PM #

    Thank you dear

  2. Karen March 29, 2012 at 2:12 PM #

    You look super cozy in your new jumper, how lucky to have a knitter in your family!

    • ZoSews April 3, 2012 at 10:57 PM #

      Thanks Karen, I am pretty lucky! πŸ™‚

  3. Julia Bobbin March 29, 2012 at 5:47 PM #

    Oh it’s so cozy and warm and lovely! I want one!

    • ZoSews April 3, 2012 at 10:58 PM #

      hahaha, you’re not having mine! ;p

  4. poppykettle April 1, 2012 at 12:47 PM #

    I’m repeating here, but this indeed does look so super cosy!!! I really love it and it reminds me how much I want to get off my backside and learn how to knit (beyond knit and purl to make a basic scarf, that is!!)

    • ZoSews April 3, 2012 at 10:59 PM #

      You should learn! It’s great to do when you don’t quite have the motivation to get up and pull out the sewing machine, ironing board etc but still want to do something with your hands.

  5. StephC April 3, 2012 at 8:40 PM #

    That wip photo is gorgeous… makes me want to race to my sewing machine.

    • ZoSews April 3, 2012 at 11:01 PM #

      Thanks Steph! I can’t wait to finish it (and wear it!) πŸ™‚

  6. Kerry April 10, 2012 at 12:02 AM #

    Oh I love these Icelandic style sweaters, yours looks soooooo cosy!

    • ZoSews April 10, 2012 at 7:33 PM #

      Its cosy alright! Just need some colder weather now so I can wear it πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A milky hat « ZoSews - April 16, 2012

    […] did promise in A new winter wooly that I would share photos of the hat I knitted just after Christmas – also known as the first […]

  2. V8146 – nearly there! « ZoSews - April 22, 2012

    […] would have seen a little splash of this jacket and the seam binding as a work in progress in A new winter wooly, and here’s a shot of the magnets being tacked […]

Leave a Reply

