Pear and Apple Dress

19 Feb

The first dress I made was V1102, an AKO number. I did love the look of it in black as it was on the pattern envelope, but for something a little more casual and fun, I decided to go ahead with this one in a lovely fruity Kokka fabric purchased from Amitie.

V1102 AKO dress pattern

V1102

(The model on this envelope really reminds me of someone… can’t put my finger on it though. What do you think?)

Here’s my finished product –

v1102

Alterations:

  • The bodice of this dress is lined, but rather than self-line it as per the pattern directions, I lined it with a kind of stone coloured cotton – avoiding the pear and apple pattern showing through from the wrong side.
  • I also used the lining fabric to bag out the bow at the back – rather than the edges being narrowly double hemmed. It gave a nicer finish I thought πŸ™‚
  • The straps at the back of the bodice were shortened by about 1cm – wouldn’t want my top falling down would I!?
  • A bust adjustment, going up a about a size.
  • Narrowing centre back to avoid gaping around the zip – a snug fit is much nicer πŸ™‚

v1102

Turning the bodice through a narrow shoulder strap was a patience and hand strength testing exercise – but I got there in the end!

Regarding the bow at the back, I have heard of someone who made it detachable. I think this is a great idea because if it’s slightly chilly you can’t wear the dress because you can’t wear a cardigan over the giant bow (hello hunchback). Another issue with the bow is that you need someone to ‘do you up’, or you have to do the bow up prior to putting it on and then wiggle into it. That said, the bow is one of the features I love.

I have actually sneaked this dress onto TV before too! Just in the background on the 7PM project – but still TV coverage πŸ™‚

v1102

So there you have it – my Pear and Apple Dress! I think it’s quirky and fun – what do you think?

Zx

21 Responses to “Pear and Apple Dress”

  1. ooobop! February 19, 2012 at 7:28 PM #

    Oh what a fabulous fabric choice. Lol… I love the bow but I can see what you mean about wearing a cardi with it! Well done for getting it televised… it deserves to be famous!

    • ZoSews February 19, 2012 at 9:27 PM #

      The fabric is pretty funny, it certainly doesn’t fade in to the background lol!

  2. Ange February 20, 2012 at 12:19 AM #

    A beautiful pictures! Have you worn this dress this summer? I keep meaning to ask…I love this dress! And the model looks a little like one Zoe Pear…hmmm…interesting…

    • ZoSews February 20, 2012 at 7:03 PM #

      I wore it when we took the photos lol! Yes, she definitely reminds me of Zoe Pear too πŸ™‚

  3. Raquel February 20, 2012 at 11:19 AM #

    This pattern is gorgeous! I have it but I didn’t started the dress yet. I am still looking for a nice fabric. Yours is perfect… I love the green and the pears! Well done! The dress is lovely!

    • ZoSews February 20, 2012 at 7:05 PM #

      Thanks so much for your lovely comment!

  4. Leith February 20, 2012 at 8:44 PM #

    Lovely dress! I made this dress last year in a red cotton/linen blend. Unfortunately, I’ve only worn it once due to the low back and no cardigan issue. Such a lovely dress.

    • ZoSews February 21, 2012 at 6:57 PM #

      Thanks Leith! It is a tricky one to get wear out of… the pear and apple is on the thicker side too, so for me it needs to be hot enough to go backless, but cool enough that I won’t get too parched in thicker cotton. All learning though :o) Would love to see pics of yours too! πŸ™‚

  5. poppykettle February 23, 2012 at 12:33 PM #

    This is gorgeous! And I love that you’ve used such a big print. I really struggle with visualising print fabric into finished garments!
    In other news… I’ve nominated you for a Leibster Blog award πŸ™‚

    • ZoSews February 24, 2012 at 6:55 PM #

      Wow Miss Poppykettle – thank you! How exciting! Now to figure out whom to pass it on to… πŸ™‚

  6. Susan - Knitters Delight February 25, 2012 at 9:21 AM #

    I’m jealous! I have this pattern and need to make it. Your fabric is so quirky, it gives this dress a nice, fresh feel. Bravo.

  7. Sassy T February 26, 2012 at 11:11 AM #

    Love it; the fabric is so cheerful.

    • ZoSews February 28, 2012 at 7:26 PM #

      Thanks Sassy T! The fabric does pick me up when I wear it :o)

  8. Vickie March 13, 2012 at 5:54 AM #

    Made this same dress for my daughter when she attended a wedding. We used a dark green sateen under a sheer flesh color with peach colored polka dots! It was the strangest combination I had ever put together. But my daughter is an artist and she was right about her choices. Turned out adorable!!

    • ZoSews March 13, 2012 at 7:10 PM #

      Wow – sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing :o)

  9. neeno April 23, 2012 at 9:17 PM #

    Yummy! that’s a yummy dress! I love the fun and bright fabric. too cool xx

    • ZoSews April 24, 2012 at 8:05 PM #

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

  10. Jillian August 21, 2012 at 9:23 AM #

    This simply GORGEOUS!!!!!!

    • ZoSews August 21, 2012 at 9:39 PM #

      Oh wow! Thanks Jillian πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skills check: How far have I come? « ZoSews - September 17, 2012

    […] Invisible zipper – V1186, V1156, V1102 […]

Leave a Reply

