A sewer’s guide to Melbourne

15 Feb

I can get jealous of the vast available options for sewers overseas, especially in the US! There’s so much variety, and everything seems to be cheaper there too. ‘Down Under’ we can certainly purchase these bargains online, but the postage costs can be a killer. In fact, sometimes the postage costs more than the actual purchase!

Anyway, I find that half the fun of shopping for fabric and the like is the retail experience. I like to see the true colours, touch, rub, stretch, drape and play with fabric before I purchase it – it’s like the fabric and I are bonding!

Shopping in Melbourne

Shopping in a Melbourne laneway

Here in Melbourne, I have my tried and true favourite haunts, and every now and again I’ll come across a fabulous new ‘sewing resource’. It could be a new fabric store, or a perhaps a place that makes custom buttons and belts.

I want to share the local sewing wonderlands I know of and discover with other Melbournians (and visitors to this lovely city), so I’ve created what I’m calling the ‘Sewer’s Guide to Melbourne’. A map that shares all the local, fabulous sewing delights here in Melbourne.

You can view the guide on the My Sewing Resources page. The map is an ongoing work in progress that I plan to update whenever I find somewhere new.

Have a look and let me know what you think, and let me know of any other places I should add too! I hope you find the guide useful!

12 Responses to “A sewer’s guide to Melbourne”

  1. poppykettle February 16, 2012 at 8:58 AM #

    Such a great idea Zo!
    If you like D’Italia then I would highly recommend you check out ‘Stitches to Style’. It’s closeby – on high st in Armadale (and conveniently waaaaaay to close to my abode!) on the city side of Glenferrie road πŸ™‚

    • ZoSews February 16, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

      Wow – had never heard of that one, can’t believe it! Looks very expensive, perhaps I should stay away lol!

  2. kaitui_kiwi February 16, 2012 at 12:08 PM #

    Fabulous! I will definitely come back to check this out when I next get over to Melbourne πŸ™‚

    • ZoSews February 16, 2012 at 6:42 PM #

      Glad it’s helpful! πŸ™‚

  3. Julia Bobbin February 16, 2012 at 7:39 PM #

    Fabulous idea Zoe! I will definitely be making reference to this map x

  4. Lou February 17, 2012 at 10:30 PM #

    Hi Zoe,

    I totally agree with you re our choice compared to others in the sewing world…. and especially as I need to buy mostly online as I live in a rural remote are of North Queensland…… However,
    can I also recommend La Modiste Fabrics on Toorak Road…..
    They have a beautiful selection of exquisite fabrics including Valentino and Ungaro Fabrics…..
    http://www.lamodiste.com.au only a web site not an online shop….. however keep reading…. πŸ™‚

    I buy from Ruth …. (Owner of La Modiste) ….she is absolutely lovely…. and if I am looking for a suitable fabric for a pattern or a particular color etc she will email photo’s of the fabrics she has they may suit and send samples etc… So even though she has no online store .. you can still buy online via email… that is how I met her….:)
    I highly recommend Ruth and La Modiste…. πŸ™‚ for beautiful fabrics….

    I plan to visit her shop, and all of your other fabric shops too when I next get to Melbourne.. hoping for the Cup… πŸ™‚ so your list will be fabulous… Thank-you!!

    Found and follow your fabulous blog via Tessuti…. one of my faves for Fabric Shopping… πŸ™‚ I read
    and enjoy your blog regularly just haven’t commented before…..

    Sorry it’s such a long reply…..
    Lou
    PS Some of Ruth”s fabrics are a little expensive ( like the exquisite designer ones..) but others are in the same range as Tessuti… Anyway.. hope you enjoy browsing there one day… πŸ™‚

    • ZoSews February 17, 2012 at 11:40 PM #

      Thanks so much for your comment and for sharing another sewing delight Lou! I will definitely have to check out la modiste, it sounds amazing – if just for the Valentino! On to the map it goes πŸ™‚ Good luck getting down here for the Cup (and for the shopping!) and I’m so glad the list will help you out if you do get to Melbourne!

      • Lou February 17, 2012 at 11:46 PM #

        Thanks Zoe… yes planning it anyway…. The trip to Melb for the Cup… πŸ™‚ that is…..and the Fabric Shops… will just have to ditch Hubby for that..:)
        I don’t think La Modiste is a huge shop.. but the Fabrics are stunning….
        I see on the La Modiste Facebook Page they have an Annual Sale in May… πŸ™‚ So wish I could come and have a look with you….. sigh…..
        Lou xx
        PS I am also dying to see Tessuti in real life in Melbourne too…..

  5. Fashionista April 27, 2012 at 10:45 AM #

    Hello Zoe, I have just fallen across your blog via JuliaBobbin and it is most excellent reading. I LOVE this resources page. After many years out of sewing (children/work/life interruptions) I have finally got back into it, albeit slightly derailed at the moment due to aforementioned children/work/life. However, I have started to accumulate a stash again and am attempting to plan my life around days where I can do nothing but sew. Not being a local I am unfamilier with the Melbourne sewing destinations (my south-eastern suburb is a fabric wasteland with only a Spotlight to blight the horizion). As I work in the city a couple of days a week I have discovered the CBD delights but have added all your list to my book for my next fabric sourcing adventure. Thank you so much for sharing!

    • ZoSews April 27, 2012 at 7:25 PM #

      Hi Fashionista, thanks for your lovely words! I’m so glad the resources page is useful for you πŸ™‚ Life does seem to get in the way of sewing all too often hey? I get excited about sewing days when they come along too. Happy fabric shopping!!

  6. sarahrmonkssarah October 26, 2014 at 4:03 PM #

    hello Zoe,

    I have just found your blog and have been keenly reading through your posts.

    I am a sewer in rural Victoria, we have a spotlight and a disastrously messy lincraft, I know that that makes me much better off than a lot of other sewers and I love an hour in spotlight and am on first name basis with a number of the staff members – eek. but It is hard to get quality fabrics especially in plain colours. I am heading to Melbourne in December and am looking forward to using your map. I feel a little like a pirate with a treasure map!

    • ZoSews October 28, 2014 at 7:01 PM #

      Hey Sarah, thanks for letting me know that the map’s useful – love it! 😊 enjoy your shopping in december!!

Leave a Reply

