Flower Power skirt

11 Feb

The now OOP v8560 skirt was the first garment I made using a commercial pattern.  I was like a deer in headlights in my local fabric/haby chain store looking at patterns, notions and fabric – but very excited! (Of course this was before I knew the joys of buying patterns online!)

Now, regarding the aforementioned chain store (that shall remain nameless), I spent ages poring over pattern books, shortlisting, and re-shortlisting – finally coming to a decision. (And that is no mean feat for me, making decisions is tough!) I approached the desk, asked for the patterns, and how many do you think they had in stock? I’ll give you a hint – none! Yes, you heard right – none! Instead, they proceeded to send me over to another store (across the other side of the city) to get the pattern there. You’ll never guess… they didn’t have want I wanted there either! I now know better than to expect service in any of these stores. But, I digress….

I ended up purchasing a lovely bright floral cotton and contrasting blue cotton from Amitie which you can see in the photo below.

Flower power skirt

I made variation A (the pink version in the pattern envelope image above). And apart from being a complete newb, I had no huge problems with this pattern.

Alterations:

  • I added in piping in between the top and bottom yoke pieces using the contrast blue, I’m not sure if you can see it in these pics though sorry!
  • I doubled the width of the contrast hem band – I don’t like to show too much leg! 🙂
  • I used an invisible zip. I much prefer invisible zips.

I love that this skirt has pockets – more womenswear should have pockets! To avoid bulk, the pocket bags were made out of lining fabric, I think some kind of acetate.

Flower power skirt pocket

I love the bright print, and I have been known to wear this skirt into the office in the depths of winter, trying to imagine it’s summer.

So there you have it! My first commercial pattern. You can see more photos of my flower power skirt in finished projects.

Do you remember sewing your first commercial pattern? How did you go?

10 Responses to “Flower Power skirt”

  1. ooobop! February 11, 2012 at 7:44 PM #

    Gorgeous fabric. I love how the contrast band visually makes the skirt shorter but actually keeps a discreet length!

    • ZoSews February 11, 2012 at 10:01 PM #

      Yes I fell in love with the fabric and had to have it! Good point regarding the contrasting band – I hadn’t noticed!

  2. Julia Bobbin February 13, 2012 at 8:06 PM #

    I love this skirt and the fabulous print. It looks so awesome with the blue piping and contrasting hem. Love.

    • ZoSews February 13, 2012 at 10:26 PM #

      Oh thank you Ms Bobbin!

  3. Leith March 6, 2012 at 10:08 PM #

    Hi Zoe! Lovely skirt. I am making this skirt for my Autumn Wardrobe and am having trouble with the invisible zip with the piping. The zip doesn’t seem to like the piping (it is quite thick where the piping is) and now my zip has broken… Any suggestions? I don’t think another invisible zip will work. What do you think about a “normal” zip? Or maybe an exposed zip…

    Gosh, I haven’t done a normal zip in over 10 years… Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

    • ZoSews March 7, 2012 at 10:56 PM #

      Hmm, I made this quite some time ago now so forgive my vagueness! (Is vagueness even a word??) Anyway, how annoying about the zip breaking!! 😦 Did you try kind of pinching the fabric and pulling it away/back from the zip then gently pulling the zip to close it over the thick area? If you could squeeze it over once, you could keep doing it and eventually I think it may ‘loosen’.

      I recently made Sewaholic’s Crescent Skirt with an exposed zip which I’m really liking! I used a really strong metal zip (I think it was built for jeans) because I liked the look, but I’m not sure if an exposed zip with the piping would be too much?

      I also did a normal/lapped zip in a pair of pants recently for the first time too. I found it pretty easy – but if you did that, would the piping behave in the ‘lap’? If the piping didn’t continue in the ‘lap’ you’d get a gap… I’m sorry, I don’t think this has been very helpful at all 😦

      Or, could you remove the ‘piping’ bit from behind the ‘piping fabric’ just close to the zip to remove some bulk?

      I’m sorry, I hope somewhere in this garble there is something at least a little bit helpful!! Looking forward to seeing the final result!! Let me know how you go 🙂

  4. Danuta Snyder June 13, 2014 at 6:41 AM #

    I am just cutting out this pattern and see that pattern piece #4 is wrong (which was confirmed on patternreview.com). I don’t really want to pay to be a pattern review member at this time, so I can’t message the people who experienced this problem. You didn’t mention thefaulty piece, so maybe your pattern has the corrected version? Of course, I expected to sew it tonight! If possible, could you scan the pattern piece and email it to me? I would so appreciate it. Thanks, Danuta.

    • ZoSews June 19, 2014 at 8:52 PM #

      Hey Danuta, sorry, I don’t have a scanner I’m afraid! I’m not sure if my #4 is wrong, it was the first pattern I ever made so probably wouldn’t have been able to tell even if it was lol! Good luck!!

      • Danuta Snyder June 19, 2014 at 11:24 PM #

        Thanks for the reply, Zoe. I successfully drafted my own replacement piece! (Vogue will send me the piece…eventually…and I can compare its accuracy, but it seems right.) I wish I’d made the bottom band longer as you did, but I still love my skirt.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skills check: How far have I come? « ZoSews - September 17, 2012

    […] Corded seam – V8560 […]

Leave a Reply

