Check Mate skirt

4 Feb

Introducing…. <drum roll> … the first skirt I ever made – the Check Mate skirt.

This is a simple straight skirt, lined, with a back vent, lapped zip and waist facing. Sounds easy huh?

Check mate skirt

After looking at the photo, some of you may now be thinking, ‘Are you mad?? Checks?? For your first project??!’.

Seems I was mad. Little innocent me walks naively into my sewing class and showed my teacher my brand new fabric to make my groundbreaking first skirt. I think she had a little heart attack internally, but I didn’t sense it. How was I supposed to know that checks were tricky!? ;pCheck mate skirt - seated

We plowed on though. She patiently worked with me to ensure the pattern went one way, and to match all the checks – which was a little easier given the large size of them. We ensured that the black column was down the centre front (more slimming that way), matched the centre back and did our best with the side seams.

I was pretty happy with the end result – what do you think? Have you worked with checks?

Oh, and ‘check mate’ checked fabric – I win!

Zxx

Check Mate skirt

13 Responses to “Check Mate skirt”

  1. ooobop! February 4, 2012 at 9:46 PM #

    Nothing like chucking yourself in the deep end! Congratulations on your first skirt. It looks amazing. Gorgeous teamed with that little halter top. My recent battle with checks was a bit winged but it hasn’t put me off… I think its one of my favourite fabric designs. http://ooobop.com/2011/11/18/vintage-simplicity-3320-in-plaid/

  2. ZoSews February 4, 2012 at 10:22 PM #

    Thank you so much for your kind comments! My first blog comment – very exciting! Funny, my ‘top’ is actually bathers I bought recently. They’re from Jets (http://www.jets.com.au/) – I couldn’t see mine on their site though. Your dress is gorgeous – I love the belt with it! The red binding looks great too! I also really like checks, but I haven’t come back to them yet… maybe soon.

  3. poppykettle February 6, 2012 at 1:20 PM #

    Hi Zoe! Just stumbled across you on Burdastyle.
    I really like the check fabric – but definitely gutsy for a first garment! But sometimes not knowing it will be hard makes it easier to do πŸ™‚

    • ZoSews February 6, 2012 at 7:34 PM #

      Haha, yep I decided to take the plunge and join the sewing blogger world :o) It’s fun! I agree, ignorance is bliss :o)

  4. Leith February 17, 2012 at 4:28 PM #

    Hi Zoe! I love your new blog. We started blogging in the same week!! Thanks for linking to my blog.

    • ZoSews February 19, 2012 at 1:44 PM #

      Thanks Leith! My pleasure – love finding other Melbourne sewers! This blogging business is pretty fun hey πŸ™‚

  5. Kelly February 24, 2012 at 2:16 AM #

    I think this skirt is adorable! I’ve just started learning to sew, and haven’t been brave enough to work in checks — or even stripes — yet.

    • ZoSews February 24, 2012 at 7:01 PM #

      Thanks so much Kelly! It was definitely easier having someone there to help, who knows what would have happened otherwise!

  6. neeno April 23, 2012 at 9:15 PM #

    Damn thats a sexy outfit!!!! Classy and sexy! Woot woot!!!!
    Love the skirt! x

    • ZoSews April 24, 2012 at 8:06 PM #

      Ooh thank you! I wore this skirt today πŸ™‚

  7. Wendy March 7, 2013 at 6:34 AM #

    I like your skirt! I tend to do the same thing not realizing I chose a pattern knit to make a dress OMG! it was so hard to match the side seams!!!

  8. sleeping bag project June 7, 2013 at 11:02 PM #

    Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had
    to ask!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skills check: How far have I come? « ZoSews - September 17, 2012

    […] Matching stripes / plaids – Undercover Hood, Check Mate Skirt […]

Leave a Reply

